Surya Kiran aerobatic team flies six Hawk aircraft already

Dec 11, 2016
Surya Kiran BAe Hawk Mk 132

The Indian Air Force aerobatic team Surya Kiran flies six BAe Hawk Mk 132 aircraft already.

In 2010, the team was temporarily disbanded for internal Indian Air Force reorganization reasons. Then all of the Surya Kirans’ HJT-16 Kiran Mk.II aircraft were re-allocated for pilot training purposes and all 13 team's pilots were dispersed to other IAF squadrons.

In 2015, Surya Kiran aerobatic team was reborn again flying four Hawk Mk 132 aircraft, but performing flypasts only.

Despite flying with six aircraft, the team is not fully operational as aerobatic team, while previously the Syrua Kiran flew nine aircraft, used color smoke generators and performed formation rolls and loops.

Surya Kiran BAe Hawk Mk 132 and teams pilots